Skip to content

The Man With the Beautiful Questions

June 12, 2013

As I walked behind my mother in a busy Wal-Mart full of different people, I can’t help but find every one of them interesting. They all have a story, a reason they are walking (or as the case may be, power walking) through Wal-Mart on this busy day.

Don’t get me wrong, I hate Wal-Mart. It is a place of evil where people can get away with shop-lifting, and can buy things twice the amount of what it is worth. But that is another story.

In everything horrible that I am forced to endure, I always try to find something great or beautiful out of it.

On this very special day, one person stood out to me. He was a medium-sized man, young, probably fresh out of college, well-dressed, blond clean-cut hair, light skin, and seemed to be very intent on his conversation he was sharing on a black smart phone. I passed this man twice during on my walk through Wal-Mart.

The first time I passed him, he seemed like almost everyone here, on a mission to get out alive. But on the second time I passed him, I felt a sudden urge to listen to his side of the conversation. I only heard two wonderful questions before we had passed each other and moved onto something else.

He had asked, “What am I fighting for? Who am I fighting?”

On my way home I really pondered on these two questions. What could they mean? I asked myself over and over again.

Then something hit me.

We all have something we fight for. Something that we aren’t given; something that we have to give ourselves. In order to get these things we have to be fighting someone or something.

What am I fighting for? 

I asked myself that question, and answered with these words: my freedom, my joy, and my peace of mind. These three things are the three most monumental things I fight for with all my heart. Without those things my life would be hard to live.

Who am I fighting?

I don’t know if you believe the same as I do but, the person I am always fighting for my freedom, joy, and peace of mind is Satan. According to the Bible all he wants to do is steal, kill, and destroy. He wants to steal my joy, and he tries everyday to deceive me into believing the lies he tries to whisper in my ears. I am always fighting him.

So I challenge you to ask yourself these two wonderfully beautiful questions, and never give up hope.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

