Skip to content

Tattered Shoes

October 27, 2013

20131025-202646.jpg
Sometimes in life we have to do things we don’t want to. It’s a fact, that no matter what it is sometimes we want to do something totally different than what we need to to. Wants and needs are two different things; we learnt this in second grade.
Not to long ago, on Friday night, my mom and I were volunteering at my little sister’s school dance, the Monster Mash. My job was to guard the door from those little rascals from going out of the cafeteria.
At one point my mom came over to talk. She said that the school’s librarian had to turn away a boy. The boy was needy, his shoes were ripped and his clothes were ratty. This poor boy had stolen a ten dollar ticket. And of course he was caught.
The librarian was all torn up over it, and I don’t blame her. The boy really wanted to be like all the other 5th and 6th graders.
I commend her for doing the right thing even though, it wasn’t what she wanted to do.
I can tell you plenty of times that I had to do what was right when all I wanted to do was the wrong thing.
For instance, when that annoying teacher takes out her anger on the whole class. I did what was right and did the extra work she assigned but I truly wanted to take a zero.
Or when one of my parent’s do something that I think is stupid or hypocritical, I try to swallow my words, and ignore it.
But it’s hard to do the right thing all the time. Sometimes it’s hard to see what is truly the right thing.
If people didn’t do the right thing, this world would be like an anarchy, in disorder and chaos.
So I commend those trying to do what is right, even if they don’t want to.
Thank you to those.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

