Skip to content

9 Things I Love and Hate About YA Books

November 16, 2013

Image

I have mixed feelings over YA books; on one hand they intrigue me and on the other they disgust me. So, here are the reasons I Love and Hate them so much.

  1. I LOVE them for their voice. In most of the YA books I have read, they are written in such a way that I can almost hear the characters speaking.
  2. I HATE the love triangles. In quite a lot of the YA books directed towards girls have something to do with love. Not all girls find that fascinating. Granted, it adds spice to a face paced story full of action. But when the book is solely based on love it makes me want to barf (or cry in hate.)
  3. I LOVE the diversity in the sizes of the books. When I go into the Christian Fiction section at Books- a- Million almost all of the books are about an inch in size. Sometimes I like having a quick read, but others I want a book that I can dive into (such as The Book Thief).
  4. I HATE the “Dystopian” lifestyles. At first it was ironic, then it was cool, and now it’s just annoying. I like to think about what could happen now, not exactly the future.
  5. I LOVE the fact that most YA writers are alive. Once you dive into classics for a little while, just for fun, you find that all of those authors are dead. (Sorry Emily Bronte, Oscar Wilde, and Charles Dickens, but it’s the honest truth.) YA authors are alive, and you still have a chance of meeting them, or reading more of their books.
  6. I HATE the cussing. Is it necessary to put the F-word every page? I don’t know anyone that cusses THAT much.
  7. I LOVE the fact I can connect to the main characters better. Such as when I read Treasure Island, I didn’t Β feel like I really could relate to Jim Hawkins, since the majority of the story Jim didn’t say much of anything.
  8. I HATE that some YA books are totally unrealistic. It makes no sense that in one chapter everything can go back to normal without an explanation! That will always bother me.
  9. I LOVE the simplicity of most YA books. They don’t try to throw in a bunch of SAT vocabulary words, or some complex explanation for why this happened. They’re usually simple so they can draw you more into the thoughts of the young adult character. (So, then you relate to them.)

This is my conclusion to my section of the blog party hosted by: matttblack22 at http://www.thelittleenginethatcouldnt.wordpress.com

What are you’re thoughts on YA books? Anyone agree or disagree?

From → Uncategorized

10 Comments
  1. Thanks for participating. I agree on the love triangles. I didn’t mind it in The Hunger Games (only the first one), but I get annoyed when I see it in any other book.

    And on #5, there’s a few perks to reading a dead author. For one thing, if they wrote a series, you don’t have to wait for the next one to come out (unless they died before they could complete it, which is the very definition of tragic). Plus if the author’s really old, you can read all their books for free online.

    • I agree with you, but I really wish I could have met Oscar Wilde, Emily Bronte, and a good number of other amazing authors. Thanks for commenting! I enjoyed the Blog Party. πŸ™‚

  2. I thought I was the only one who went to the Christian Fiction section in Barnes and Noble. I agree with #6. That drives me crazy. Also, I dislike how many YA books have that one random sex scene that is completely useless to the story. I didn’t pick up the book for that, but a lot of times it’s unavoidable.

  3. I agree with # 1 especially. I don’t mind love triangles (or any type of love situation) as long as it’s natural to the story. If it seems too forced or empty then it usually just muddles the story.

  4. I’d like to add 1 thing to your love/hate – I love fantasy books and YA book seem to be the only place to easily find them. Good/bad/ugly I try and give them all a shot. I either buy them for myself or my daughter then we trade πŸ™‚

    • Haha. It seems to be that fantasy is a very popular genre, but for some reason I can’t wrap my mind around that concept. πŸ™‚ I also trade books with my little sister and my mom. (If they are worth reading.)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Day 2 of the Blog Party | The Little Engine that Couldn't
  2. I Guess You Could Say This Has Been a Success | The Little Engine that Couldn't

Leave a Reply

