Skip to content

One Voice, Two Sentences, and a Gentle Whisper

January 9, 2014

courtesy to google images…

Just a few minutes ago, my mother was talking about the recent flu “pandemic.” Apparently, in our local town many have been hospitalized, and some have died, from this horrible flu. My mother, wanting the best for us, was contemplating and praying whether or not to get the flu shot. She has called all our local flu shot providers, and most have been completely out of it. Sadly, this has only come to be because of the media. All over the news are: death here, flu shot there, etc.

Mom was in my room and she asked me, “How can you tell which voice is God’s and which is Satan’s?” It seems that right now, its hard to tell if God is telling you to do something, or Satan putting fear into you.

Satan has a way of getting into social media, and the news in order to spread this “pandemic”. But the thing is, he never started with the flu. It started the moment TV, radio, and telegrams were invented.  He has intertwined fears and social faux pas into our media. I can’t think of a time, I have walked away from the news without thinking about it later that day.

We as a nation, have been so desensitized to sin: whether it be violence, to sex, to sexuality, to fear. Satan has a way to sneak things into our lives, and make them seem normal. So normal, they don’t seem so much like sins.

If you are a Christian, like me, you might understand. Satan owns this world, but God owns us.

I can tell you, I fear. I fear like no tomorrow. Granted, I don’t fear what my mother fears, or what my father fears. But I FEAR.

I wonder what’s God’s voice, and what’s Satan’s impersonation, because its hard to tell for me.

This whole thought reminds me of one of my favorite set of scriptures:

The Lord said, ‘Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of the Lord, for the lord is about to pass by.’ Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earth-quake, but the Lord was not in the earth-quake. After the earth-quake came a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper.”

1 Kings 19:11-12

In this story, Elijah is going to stand on the mountain to speak with the Lord, and all this stuff happens, but none of it was God. After all the crazy came a gentle whisper, God’s gentle whisper.

God isn’t always this loud booming voice, or a supernatural event. Sometimes he’s a small voice in the depths of your heart.

No matter what Satan is shoving down our throats, we need to listen for that gentle whisper.

I pray that we all find his voice in this madness. God bless you. ( and not because you sneezed.)

 

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Perfect way to describe it: “Satan own this world, but God owns us.” Thanks for the reminder.

  2. Love this, Tess! Especially this line: “I don’t fear what my mother fears, or what my father fears. But I FEAR” – it takes grace to recognize another’s fear and not judge!

Leave a Reply

