Skip to content

News And Madeira

June 18, 2014

IMG_2524[1]

Not two weeks ago, my mom came into her room where I was watching the first Sherlock episode in season three. She sat down next to me and told me that she got a call from my doctor. Apparently my white blood cell count is low and they want to send me to a hematologist. If you know anything about me, you know I have been in and out of doctor’s offices since birth. So much that my family calls me their “green house plant.”

Doctor’s offices have never been a fun experience for me; my summer vacation couldn’t have come at a better time.

The very next Friday, we set out for Madeira Beach, Florida. My escape from everyday life.

We had never been there before, and I have to say I was very pleased with our stay there.

On the day of check-in at our condo, we stopped at the Clearwater Marine Aquarium, the home of Winter the dolphin (A Dolphin Tale was filmed on site). The aquarium was really cool; they only rescue and keep the animals that are unable to be released back into the wild. (This earned points with me, little animal rights lover here.)

Hope has her own movie called Dolphin Tale 2

Hope has her own movie called Dolphin Tale 2

They had so many wonderful animals, including three dolphins, three sea otters, two large birds, four sea turtles,  two nurse sharks, and so many sting rays.

sea otter

This is Hope again

This is Hope again

I recommend this place to anyone in the Clearwater area. A must see!

We checked in and got settled after spending four hours at the aquarium.

The view from our condo

The view from our condo

Our condo was beautiful and clean. It was great.

The beach was amazing also. The first two days the waves were like cream of wheat, which was kind of sad to me and my boogie board. But after a few thunderstorms the next couple days the waves got larger and stronger.

Our condo building.

Our condo building.

In Madeira there is this place called John’s Pass. It has a boardwalk with little stores right on the marina. We spent most of our nights out and about on the pass.

One night, we were on the pass and my little sister got a massive ice cream cone. She steps out into the street and this seagull face dives into her ice cream cone.

The seagull that nose dived my sister's ice cream

The seagull that nose-dived my sister’s ice cream

It happened so fast we didn’t even see the bird until we turned around and saw him with ice cream all over his beak.

While we were at John’s Pass we all got henna tattoos, except my dad. My sister got a lizard on her foot, my mom got a sea turtle on her foot, and I got a bird on my ankle.

My henna tatoo

My henna tattoo

It was a lot of fun for all of us.

Monument in John's Pass

Monument in John’s Pass

While we were at John’s Pass my Sister pointed out this great monument for those lost at sea.

IMG_2489[1]IMG_2492[1]

Even though I got sunburnt I didn’t allow it me to stop having fun. (Not that sun burns are fun or anything.)

IMG_2514[1] IMG_2515[1] IMG_2517[1]

 

On our last full day in Madeira my dad drove us over the Sunshine Skyway Bridge. I have to be honest, it was a little intimidating going over such a tall and large bridge.

 

The Sunshine Skyway Bridge

The Sunshine Skyway Bridge

So in simplest terms, Madeira Beach was a relief we all needed. Its salty water, and sugar sand greeted us with a love so great. And we loved it back.

IMG_2520[1]

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. News And Madeira

Leave a Reply

